It is no secret that you cannot serve or sell alcoholic beverages to your customers without an alcohol license. Failure to obtain an alcohol license could result in a fine, cease and desist order or even jail time. Luckily, you can still receive your alcohol license before your grand opening. Follow these steps to obtain the right alcohol license for your business.
Contact An Alcohol Permit Company
You can start obtaining your license by contacting an alcohol permit company based in your state. The company knows the requirements for serving or selling alcohol in your area, and they can help you get through the process in a timely manner. If you live in Texas, you are going to contact Texas Alcohol Consulting.
Learn The Requirements Of An Alcohol License
There are certain requirements of obtaining an alcohol license in each state. You must be at least 21 years old, a legal resident and a law-abiding citizen to serve or sell alcohol in your establishment. You are also required to follow a specific set of rules for your license.
Figure Out Which License You Need
There are several types of alcohol licenses per state, and you need to figure out which one you need for your business. If you own a restaurant, you do not want to apply for a license designed for liquor stores. You can work with the alcohol permit company to find the right license for your business. You do need to fill out an application, pay a fee and follow the rules for your specific license.
Look Into The Additional Requirements
You may need to take several more steps before receiving your alcohol license. The requirements may include an interview, site visit and possible training classes. You may also need to attend a court hearing with a member of the alcohol permit company. The company will talk to you about the additional requirements for your specific license.
Once you go through the process, it can take up to 60 days to receive your alcohol license. The lengthy process is worth being able to attract more customers to your business.